Driver Education Licensing Assistance Programs: Preparing Teens for the Road

Taking a Driver Education Licensing Assistance Program

Most states require teens to complete a classroom-based course before applying for their learners permit. They also need to log 50 hours of practice driving before they can take their road test.

New York offers two options: a short pre-licensing course and a full 48-hour driver’s education course. Both can help prepare teens for New York’s busy roads.

New York Drives

When you are driving in New York City, you must obey the rules of the road to avoid fines or accidents. You should also be aware of the rules governing work zones. You must pay attention to speed limits, yield to pedestrians and follow the rules of parking. NYC DOT also provides special rules for high-occupancy vehicles, including buses and Access-A-Ride vehicles.

You can learn about the rules of driving in New York by taking a practice test at a driver education program. The practice tests are free and will help you prepare for your New York state licensing exam. You can also get an idea of how the test questions will be by answering a few practice questions online.

The New York Drives program combines six weeks of classroom learning with three weeks of part-time driving lessons. It also helps participants enroll into training programs that lead to employment, such as trade jobs or working on a TV or movie set. The program also offers a social support component, including weekly information sessions and job placement assistance.

Low-Income Driver Training Programs

Many states offer free driver’s education courses to help drivers improve their skills. These courses typically teach students about the rules of the road and how to use car safety features. They also cover driving psychology, including ways to avoid distractions and reduce stress behind the wheel. Students who complete these courses may be eligible for insurance discounts.

In Florida, for example, drivers who get three or more traffic convictions in 36 months are required to take a state-approved basic driver improvement course. These classes include both classroom instruction and on-the-road training.

Some driving schools partner with government programs to put low-income individuals on the path toward earning their license. New York Drives, for instance, hosts informational sessions to help teens learn more about the program and how it works. Applicants must have a valid learner’s permit to attend the sessions. Other requirements vary by program. Some require a certified birth certificate or a U.S. passport or passport card.

Government Training

Government employees and their family members are eligible to take a driver training course as part of their employment requirements or as a way to reduce points on their license. These classes can be taken at a driving school or online through a DMV-approved provider.

Driver education is typically taught by high school instructors, although home-schooled students can enroll in a private driver education program at their own cost. Students must complete both a classroom portion and a behind-the-wheel instruction portion.

A new grant administered by the Ohio Traffic Safety Office (OTSO) will allow teens in low-income families to attend an Ohio-approved driver’s education course at little or no cost. Funding for the scholarships is awarded to local governmental agencies through a competitive application process. OTSO hopes that the program will help teen drivers become safe, responsible, and confident on Ohio’s roads. Learn more about the program here.

Private Driving Schools

Sky Auto Driving School is one of the most reputable schools in New York, educating drivers and shaping them to be responsible, law-abiding citizens. The school offers in-person and virtual classes for students who are 16 to 17 years old. Its instructors undergo rigorous screening and intensive training to provide top-quality, informative instructions.

Private driving schools are licensed by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Those who want to open a private driver training school must submit an application and submit a statement certifying that they are of good moral character and have not been convicted of certain offenses. The application also requires a list of names, addresses and daytime phone numbers of three character references that are not related to the applicant.

Complete this course to fulfill the classroom portion of your state requirement. Then take the 2-hour driving lesson at a time that works best for you! You can even get an insurance discount after passing.

Return to the home screen

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *